In Defense of Klout Measurement

Amplify’d from windmillnetworking.com

My social media consulting clients always ask me as to who they should be trying to “influence” on social websites, and I always have to remind them that any social media user could potentially be an “influencer.”  That being said, some people or businesses use social networking sites more than others, some have more reach than others, and some are considered to have thought leadership in their industries or professions more than others.  So, although an exact measurement of social media influence is impossible because it will be different based on 1) the context of what exactly you’re trying to influence as well as 2) a big question as to how many people will actually act upon the recommendation of an “influencer.”

I blogged earlier this year looking at two tools to measure social media influence: Klout and PeerIndex.  Of course these are only two potential tools that a social marketer has at his or her disposal.  In fact, there are many tools to measure social influence, but they mean nothing without a relevance filter for the particular product or industry.  For instance, Ashton Kutcher could have a high Klout score, but I certainly wouldn’t consider him influential in the B2B business services market.

With that in mind, and a disclaimer that I have no professional relationship with Klout other than that I met their CEO Joe Fernandez at BlogWorld 2010 and he was a cool dude, I want to blog in defense of Klout as a measurement tool for social media influence by giving a very good example of why the score works as one practical metric.  The example I use is something that I know a lot about: the social media industry.

Read more at windmillnetworking.com

 

One thought on “In Defense of Klout Measurement

  1. Pingback: Gripe and the Power of Social Influence on the Web | Keith Brown

Comments are closed.